Birthday card

2ndCard

I made this birthday card for my mother-in-law

Here’s my second attempt at my card-making project; it was for my mother-in-law’s birthday this past week. I made it a little while back, but now that her birthday is past and she’s had a chance to see it in person first, I can finally post about it here! I’ve decided it’s much more fun to make cards for a specific purpose, other than just to make them to post about them here. ‘Tis better to give and all that. If they aren’t for anyone, then what good are they? What do I do with it once I’ve made it? Now thank you cards and the like … I can see making those ahead of time and holding on to them until an occasion arises to use them. Of course, I still have a bunch of those left over from the wedding…

Anyway, for this card, I followed a template from my A Card A Day book, but chose my own papers and ribbons, and added the “Sunrise Seeds” and “Birthday Greetings” all of my own volition! haha. And yes, I sewed that border by hand. It took a surprisingly long time. I’ve noticed a lot of the cards in that book use that as an embellishment, so maybe I’ll get faster at it!

I can already tell that I could use more stamps for various greetings… oh well, slowly but surely.

2 thoughts on “Birthday card

  1. so fun to see my card on here! 🙂 It is lovely, and i love that you took the time to make it, and while you were making it you were thinking about its recipient and putting on details that made you happy and that you hoped would make me happy…and they did! so that is the beauty of making a thing with a person and purpose in mind. that is the motivator to so many handcrafts…really, you could never be paid enough for your time, it is the emotional satisfaction that makes these so precious to giver and receiver alike. even making thank-yous that you can stockpile, you know that you will give them to a person that you are grateful to. If you were to make these cards and sell them, well that wouldn’t be nearly as satisfying, would it! i am a card keeper. I have a drawer full of cards that dear friends and family have given me over the years. birthdays, anniversaries, thank you’s, valentines, “just because”… i cannot bear to toss away the heartfelt sentiments of someone i love; i cherish these words so much. keeping the cards that they wrote in their own hand with their own words makes me feel close to them again on the occasions when i may look through them. having the card be handmade as well–all the more so. thank you, dear daughter, for giving me that precious gift. i shall treasure it always!
    Mom H

Leave a Reply

